KKR vs PBKS, IPL 2022, Highlights

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were back on track in the TATA Indian Premier League by beating the Punjab Kings (PBKS) by six wickets on Friday.

Umesh Yadav ripped through PBKS’ batting line-up with a brilliant 4-wicket haul, before Andre Russell’s annihilating unbeaten knock of 70 off just 31 deliveries propelled KKR to a commanding victory against PBKS. Umesh Yadav took 4 wickets and Andre Russell scored an unbeaten 70 in the final game of the tournament.

The Kolkata Knight Riders chased 138 in the game, but lost two early wickets. Ajinkya Rahane reached the 4000 IPL runs landmark in the game, and was later caught by Odean Smith at short third man.


Venkatesh Iyer was dismissed by Harpreet Brar inside the circle. Sam Billings, who had been looking in solid touch and was dealing in boundaries, joined skipper Shreyas Iyer.

KKR were leading 51-2 at the end of powerplay before Rahul Chahar bowled a special double-wicket maiden over to dismiss skipper Iyer for 26 and Nitish Rana for a second-ball duck.

Russell hit two huge sixes off Harpreet Brar in the 10th inning to help KKR score 17 runs from the over.

The Knight Riders hammered 30 runs off the 12th over, bowled by Odean Smith. Russell smashed three sixes and a four, Billings wrapped the over with a maximum straight down the ground on a free-hit.

Rahul Chahar’s five runs from the 13th over helped Russell reach his half-century in the next over. He ended Arshdeep Singh’s over with a slice over deep-cover for six.

Russell wrapped up the chase with consecutive sixes and remained unbeaten on 70 off just 31 deliveries to complete a dominating victory, with more than five overs to spare.

The Punjab Kings, who were batting first, made one change – Kagiso Rabada replaced Sandeep Sharma in the eleven. Umesh Yadav continued his fine form with the new ball and dismissed the PBKS skipper – Mayank Agarwal for LBW in the opening over.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, the new man in, quickly got on the score sheet with 3 fours and 3 sixes before he was caught inside the circle off Shivam Mavi’s bowling.

The Punjab Kings lost their third wicket in the form of Shikhar Dhawan, who was caught behind for 16. This led to them being 62/3 at the end of powerplay.

The Knight Riders added two more wickets to the tally after the first six overs.


Yadav scalped his second wicket of the innings after Livingstone was caught in the deep while Narine cleaned up the stumps of Raj Bawa in the next over.

With the pressure mounting on the batters, Shahrukh Khan was dismissed for a duck in the 13th over, bowled by Southee.

Yadav finished his inning with two strikes, bowled a double-wicket maiden, and caught Rahul Chahar.

The paragraph describes how two batsmen added 35 runs for the ninth wicket, before being caught out and the innings ended in a loss.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the match by 6 wickets against Punjab Kings. Andre Russell scored 70 runs and Shreyas Iyer 26. Rahul Chahar 2-13 took two wickets for KKR. Bhanuka Rajapaksa 31 and Kagiso Rabada 25 also contributed to the victory for KKR.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.